top of page
Analytics

E-commerce

Electronic commerce allows French or international companies to easily carry out transactions with customers located all over the world. Certain international transactions may give rise to questions regarding the taxation of profits with regard to the State which has the right to tax the income from this activity. It can be the State of the source of the income or the State of residence of the recipient of the income.

The analysis of your e-commerce project should be subject to a tax analysis by our tax law firm in order to limit the risks associated with this type of business. In principle, the taxation of commercial activities (purchases of goods and services) carried out on the Internet network is carried out by combined application of domestic law and tax treaties which makes it possible to tax in France the commercial activities carried out by a foreign company if that -ci has a permanent establishment in France or operates through a dependent representative acting on its behalf.

The problems linked to electronic commerce result less from an inadequate adaptation of the legislation than from difficulties in applying it in a new technological context. The combination of the internal law of the different States and of the international tax treaties makes it possible mainly to resolve this situation of conflict between a taxation located in the State of the source of the income or the State of residence of the beneficiary thanks to the concept of permanent establishment. .

Our tax law firm helps you to resolve questions relating in particular to the assimilation of a server, a website, a hosting agreement to a permanent establishment or questions related to the classification of payments during electronic transactions. Likewise, electronic commerce poses

difficulties for companies to determine the place of consumption with regard to the VAT regime or the consumption tax. The dematerialization of transactions has indeed changed the link between the territory and the act of consumption. The distinction between the supply of goods and the provision of services poses difficulties for online e-commerce. The delivery of a good by downloading (books, software, etc.) in effect loses its physical form in an operation which should be considered as a delivery of goods.

However, the supply of goods in digital form is in principle considered to be an intangible supply of services subject to the specific regime. This position may seem discriminatory with regard to electronic commerce, insofar as the supply of services is subject to a single VAT rate, while the deliveries of goods are subject to different rates depending on the products delivered.

Electronic commerce is also a problem with regard to the location of operators. In the case of the provision of services, the place of taxation often depends on the place of activity of the service provider. As a reminder, the criterion for the location of the service provider is in principle constituted by the seat of its activity, failing which by a permanent establishment.

Our tax law firm thus assists companies in resolving this difficulty related to the

determination of the State of consumption, in particular by ensuring that the tax qualification of transactions carried out within the framework of electronic commerce complies with the rules in force.

bottom of page

Analytics

Commerce Electronique

Le commerce électronique permet aux entreprises françaises ou internationales de réaliser facilement des transactions avec des clients situés dans le monde entier. Certaines transactions internationales peuvent prêter à interrogations en matière d'imposition sur les bénéfices au regard de l'Etat qui a le droit d'imposer les revenus issus de cette activité. Il peut s'agir de l'Etat de la source des revenus ou de l'Etat de résidence du bénéficiaire des revenus.

L’analyse de votre projet de commerce électronique devrait obligatoirement faire l’objet d’une analyse fiscale par notre cabinet d'avocats fiscalistes afin de limiter les risques liés à ce type de commerce. En principe, la taxation des activités commerciales (achats de biens et de services) réalisées sur le réseau Internet s'effectue par application combinée du droit interne et des conventions fiscales qui permet de taxer en France les activités commerciales réalisées par une entreprise étrangère si celle-ci dispose d'un établissement stable en France ou opère par l'intermédiaire d'un représentant dépendant agissant pour son compte.

Les problématiques liés au commerce électronique résultent moins d'une inadaptation de la législation que des difficultés à l'appliquer dans un contexte technologique nouveau. La combinaison du droit interne des différents Etats et des conventions fiscales internationales permet principalement de résoudre cette situation de conflit entre une imposition située dans l'Etat de la source des revenus ou de l'Etat de résidence du bénéficiaire grâce au concept d'établissement stable.

Notre cabinet d’avocats fiscalistes vous aide pour résoudre les questions relatives notamment à l’assimilation d’un serveur, d'un site internet, d'un accord d'hébergement à un établissement stable ou les questions liées à la classification des paiements lors des transactions électroniques. De même, le commerce électronique pose des

difficultés aux entreprises pour déterminer le lieu de consommation en ce qui concerne le régime de TVA ou l'impôt à la consommation. La dématérialisation des transactions a en effet modifié le lien entre le territoire et l'acte de consommation. La distinction entre livraisons de biens et prestations de services pose des difficultés au commerce électronique on line. La livraison d'un bien par téléchargement (livres, logiciels, etc.) fait en effet perdre sa forme physique à une opération qui devrait être considérée comme une livraison de biens.

Cependant, la fourniture de biens sous forme numérique est en principe considérée comme une prestation de services immatérielle soumise au régime spécifique. Cette position peut sembler discriminatoire à l'égard du commerce électronique, dans la mesure où les prestations de services sont soumises à un taux de TVA unique, alors que les livraisons de biens sont soumises à des taux différenciés selon les produits livrés.

Le commerce électronique pose également problème au regard de la localisation des opérateurs. Dans le cas des prestations de services, le lieu d'imposition dépend en effet souvent du lieu d'activité du prestataire. Pour mémoire, le critère de localisation du prestataire est en principe constitué par le siège de son activité, à défaut par un établissement stable.

Notre cabinet d’avocat sen droit fiscal assiste ainsi les entreprises à résoudre cette difficulté liée à la

détermination de l'Etat de consommation notamment en s'assurant que la qualification fiscale des opérations réalisées dans le cadre du commerce électronique soit conforme aux règles en vigueur.

  • AVOCAT FISCAL PARIS FISCALISTE
  • AVOCAT FISCAL PARIS FISCALISTE
  • AVOCAT FISCAL PARIS FISCALISTE
  • AVOCAT FISCAL PARIS FISCALISTE